Products & Services
Technical Due Diligence
Opportunity Discovery
User Centered Design
Product Realization
Systematic Innovation
Opportunity Discovery
& User Centered Design
About Us
Management Team
Technical Advisory Board
Contact Us
(908) 889-5831
Who We Are

The Omenti Research team has a record of exceeding expectations when it comes to opportunity discovery and prototyping. These achievements can be categorized by the following.

Management Team

Dr. Steven Crandall, Ph.D. Founding Member, Board of Directors
Dr. Crandall is a physicist with over twenty years of research, ranging from network architecture theory and practice to the deployment and use of technologies in education. At AT&T Labs Research and Bell Labs, Dr. Crandall did pioneering work in photolithography, automatic defect inspection, wired and wireless high-speed access technology, high-quality multimedia transmission and its social use, ultra-efficient radio, location-based services and presence.

David Weimer, M.S. Founding Member, Board of Directors
Dave Weimer is both a technology expert and an artist. He worked for twenty-two years in research at Bell Laboratories and AT&T Labs. His research and development experience includes development of software for computer mediated communications, user interface design, human factors, groupware, software development, computer graphics, computer telephony integration, interactive TV, and graphic design.

Nancy Mintz, M.S. Founding Member, Board of Directors
Nancy Mintz has over twenty years experience in software development at AT&T Labs Research, Unix System Laboratories and AT&T Bell Laboratories. Her software is used worldwide. She ported TCP/IP to UNIX SVR4, and developed the UNIX SVR4 kernel memory allocator. Most recently, she developed Virtual Private Network administration systems and automated tools for managing large-scale messaging systems deployed in a top-rated Internet service that handled millions of users.

Technical Advisory Board

Our technical advisory board is the strongest in the industry. Its members are world class scientists in fundamental and applied computer science, computer security, anthropology of information technology, and distance learning.

Dr. Steven Greenspan, Ph.D. is a founding member and member of the board of directors for Omenti Research. Dr. Greenspan has over sixteen years experience in telecommunications research and development at AT&T Labs and Bell Labs, designing and evaluating new consumer and business products, and publishing research on Computer-Human Interaction. Dr. Greenspan is a co-inventor on over twelve U.S. patents. While at AT&T Labs Research and Bell labs, he co-edited the book, Applied Speech Technology, and authored numerous papers on cognitive psychology, communication, and human-computer interaction.

Dr. Andrea Basso is a regular contributor to the ISO-MPEG and IETF standards committees. Dr. Basso conducts research in still and sequence image representation and coding, real time communications and multimedia networked services and service components. His work focuses on Quality of Service, protocols, scalability, caching, streaming, video smoothing, inter- and intra- media synchronization and high quality real-time video over the Internet.

Dr. Steven M. Bellovin received the 1995 Usenix Lifetime Achievement Award for his work in creating netnews. Since 1982, he has conducted research at AT&T Labs Research (formerly part of AT&T Bell Laboratories). He is an AT&T Fellow and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. Dr. Bellovin is the co-author of the book "Firewalls and Internet Security: Repelling the Wily Hacker", and holds several patents on cryptographic and network protocols. He was a member of the Internet Architecture Board from 1996-2002; he is co-director of the IETF Security Area.

Dr. Steve Cisler was a member of Apple Computer's Advanced Technology Group, and is credited with persuading the FCC to free up spectrum used in 802.11a/b. Dr. Cisler is well known for his work in community networking, public access, the Internet Society.

Dr. Minsky Luo is the former VP of Technology of Lifetime TV and Entertainment Services. Prior to this position, Dr. Luo was CTO of R.R. Donnelley, and several other communications companies.

Dr. Thaddeus J. Kowalski is the owner of Software Practices and Technology, LLC. Previously, Ted was the Vice President and Chief Technology Officer for Advanced Real-Time Communications Architecture and Strategy at AT&T Labs. He was responsible for incubation of new business services. While at AT&T, Ted led R&D efforts in support of numerous business and consumer initiatives.

Dr. Bonnie A. Nardi is an Associate Professor in Information and Computer Science at UC Irvine. Dr. Nardi is the author of A Small Matter of Programming: Perspectives on End User Computing (MIT Press, 1993), the editor of Context and Consciousness: Activity Theory and Human Computer Interaction (MIT Press, 1996) and the co-author of Information Ecologies: Using Technology with Heart (MIT Press, 1999). She has conducted field studies of technology use in offices, hospitals, schools, libraries and laboratories.

Dr. Fernando Pereira is the Andrew and Debra Rachleff Professor and chair of the department of Computer and Information Science, University of Pennsylvania. He has also held research and management positions at SRI International and AT&T Labs Research. He was elected Fellow of the American Association for Artificial Intelligence in 1991 for his contributions to computational linguistics and logic programming, and he is a past president of the Association for Computational Linguistics.

Dr. Norm Schryer is an applied mathematician and a department head at AT&T Research with over 30 years of telecommunications research. Dr. Schryer is well known for his work on telecommuting and high speed Internet access to the home. He is the recipient of many awards including the AT&T Science & Technology Medal.

Dr. Bjarne Stroustrup is internationally famous as the designer and original implementer of C++. His research interests include distributed systems, operating systems, simulation, design and programming. Dr. Stroustrup has received numerous awards including: AT&T Fellow, ACM Fellow and the ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award.

Copyright Omenti Research, LLC. 2003-2004